How Do I Delete Messages On My Iphone 7?

Asked by: Ms. Dr. Laura Davis Ph.D. | Last update: April 20, 2021
star rating: 4.5/5 (57 ratings)

How to Delete Text Messages on iOS 7 Open the Messages app. Select a conversation. Hold your finger on any of the messages in the conversation until the More tab appears. Select More. Select the text messages you'd like to delete and tap the trash icon at the bottom left of the screen to get rid of them.

Why can't I delete messages on my iPhone 7?

If you can't delete text messages from iPhone, access Settings > Messages > Keep Messages. Select the 30 days time frame and reset your phone. Once the reset process is done, attempt to delete the message and check if it has been successful.

How do you delete multiple messages on iPhone 7?

How To Delete Multiple Conversations Launch the Messages app from the Home screen. What is this? Tap Edit. This option is located on the top-left corner of the screen. Select the conversations you wish to delete. A check mark should be visible inside the circle of the selected conversations. Then select Delete. .

How do you delete iPhone text messages?

Apple iPhone - Delete Messages From a Home screen, tap the. Messages icon. . To delete a single conversation, swipe left on the conversation that you want to delete. To delete more than one conversation: Tap. Edit. (prior to selecting a conversation). Tap. Select Messages. . Tap the. Trashcan icon. . Tap. Delete. . .

How do u delete multiple messages on iPhone?

How to delete multiple conversations Open the messages app, and tap Edit on the upper left corner. Select the messages you want to delete. Choose Delete on the lower right corner. .

iOS 7 How to delete text messages and more - YouTube

16 related questions found

Why can't I delete texts?

Go to Settings, Apps, Apps Manager (or All), find you SMS app. Do a force stop, clear cache and clear data. Exit settings and reboot. that may help.

How do I delete Messages from iPhone but not iCloud?

You need to go to settings - iCloud and toggle off Messages. If you delete that thread it will be local to your device but that thread will still remain in Messages in iCloud since you haven't deleted it from there. Just remember if you turn it back on on that very same device the thread will show up again.

How do I permanently delete messages?

You can delete individual texts or conversations within your messaging app. For individual texts, hover over the text you want to delete within the conversation and select the trash can icon in the top right corner to delete.

How do I erase text messages?

1 Delete a Message Open Messages. Locate the conversation that has the message you want to delete then tap on it. Touch and hold the message you want to delete. Tap the trash can to delete the message. Tap Delete on the confirmation prompt. .

How do I delete multiple messages at once?

How to Delete Multiple Android Messages at the Same Time Open the Messages app. Select a chat thread. Long-press on a message to highlight it. Tap any additional messages you wish to remove. Tap the trash can icon from the menu bar at the top of the app screen to delete the messages. .

Why do deleted messages reappear on iPhone?

Text messages hang around after you delete them because of how the iPhone deletes data. When you delete some kinds of items from the iPhone, they aren't removed. Instead, they're marked for deletion by the operating system and hidden so they appear to be gone, but they're still on the phone.

Can you delete Imessages on both sides?

Yes, you can delete text messages on both sides of an iPhone conversation. To do this, open the Messages app and find the conversation you want to delete messages from. Tap and hold on the conversation, then tap Delete. Select Delete Messages on Both Sides to delete all messages in the conversation.

How do you delete messages on iPhone so the other person cant see it 2021?

On your device, open the Messages app and find the conversation that you want to delete. Tap and hold on the conversation, then tap Delete. On the recipient's device, open the Messages app and find the conversation that you want to delete. Tap and hold on the conversation, then tap Delete Message.

How do I delete a text message without opening it?

Answer: A: You can SWIPE LEFT on the Sender's name in the message list and choose DELETE. The entire thread will be deleted. You know, you can always open the message and then choose to delete as you normally do as well.

How do I delete all messages on my phone?

Tap the conversation. Touch and hold the message you want to delete. Optional: To delete multiple messages, touch and hold the first message, then tap more messages. Tap Delete to confirm.

Where are my deleted messages on iPhone?

You can retrieve deleted text messages on your iPhone by restoring it with an iCloud backup. If you save backups to your computer, you can use iTunes or Finder to recover your iPhone's texts. If all else fails, reach out to your cellular carrier — they may restore deleted messages for you.

Where do text messages go when you delete them?

Messages are laid out on the SIM card as data files. When you move messages around or delete them, the data actually stays put. All you're doing is telling the phone to point at the files in different ways.

Can I delete all my text messages at once on iPhone?

The safest, easiest, and fastest way of getting rid of messages from your iPhone is to simply delete entire conversations with a given contact. Just go to the conversation you want to delete, swipe to the left, and then tap on the red button which says “Delete.”.

Why do my text messages keep coming back after I delete them?

Text messages hang around after you “delete” them because of how the iPhone deletes data. When you “delete” some kinds of items from the iPhone, they don't actually get removed. Instead, they're marked for deletion by the operating system and hidden so that they appear to be gone.

When you delete Imessages are they gone from the other person's phone?

No. It will get deleted from all your devices only. Anyone in a group iMessage can add or remove someone from the conversation. You can remove a person from a group iMessage that has at least three other people.

How do I completely erase my iPhone?

Wipe all content and settings from iPhone Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone. If you're erasing your iPhone because you're replacing it with a new iPhone that you have on hand, you can use extra free storage in iCloud to move your apps and data to the new device. Tap Erase All Content and Settings. .