How Does A Facebook Legacy Account Work?

Asked by: Ms. Lukas Wilson B.Eng. | Last update: June 25, 2021
star rating: 4.4/5 (64 ratings)

What is a legacy contact and what can they do with my Facebook account? A legacy contact is someone you choose to look after your account if it's memorialized after you've passed away. If you add a legacy contact, that person will be able to make decisions about your account once it is memorialized.

How do I use my legacy account on Facebook?

Tap in the top right of Facebook. Scroll down and tap Settings then tap Personal Information. Tap Manage Account then tap Legacy Contact. Tap Choose Legacy Contact and follow the on-screen instructions.

Can your legacy contact see your messages?

Your legacy contact can't: Read your messages. Remove any of your friends or make new friend requests.

What is a Facebook legacy account?

Facebook is letting users in the US designate a “legacy contact” that can take control of an account after their death. The new setting within Facebook's security options allows a trusted family member or friend to make one last post on the behalf of the deceased.

What happens when you memorialize a Facebook account?

Policy Rationale. When someone passes away, friends and family can request that we memorialize the Facebook account. Once memorialized, the word "Remembering" appears above the name on the person's profile so the account is now a memorial site and protects against attempted logins and fraudulent activity.

How to Set Up Facebook Memorialization and Legacy Contact

17 related questions found

How do I let Facebook know someone has died?

To help us remove your loved one's account from Facebook, we'll need you to provide documentation to confirm you're an immediate family member or executor of the account holder. The fastest way for us to process your request is for you to provide a scan or photo of your loved one's death certificate.

Can a legacy contact delete account?

A legacy contact or immediate family member is allowed to delete your account, but after your account is deleted, they will not be able to bring it back. Deletion is permanent.7 days ago.

How do I know if I'm someone's legacy contact?

They will also not be able to access or view any of your private messages in Facebook Messenger. To assign a legacy contact for your Facebook account click on the arrow at the upper right of Web page and select Settings. Then click Security in the left pane and you will see Legacy Contact listed at the bottom.

How does a legacy contact memorialize a Facebook account?

If it has been memorialized, it will become a place for family and friends to gather on the web to remember a friend or loved one. This includes viewing photos or stories of the deceased on that Facebook account. As a Legacy Contact, you will be in charge of the upkeep of the account once it has been memorialized.

How do you choose a legacy contact on Facebook?

Open your settings. Choose Security and then Legacy Contact at the bottom of the page. After choosing your legacy contact, you'll have the option to send a message to that person. You may give your legacy contact permission to download an archive of the posts, photos and profile info you've shared on Facebook.

Is it better to delete or memorialize a Facebook account?

For proof of death, Facebook will accept an obituary or memorial card. It can take Facebook up to 90 days to delete everything. Except messages the deceased person sent to friends, which stay in those accounts. In the end, whether a page is memorialized or deleted, either is better to leaving it unchanged at death.

Are memorialized accounts a good idea?

There are other reasons why I recommend it as well: 1 – Memorializing an account will prevent malicious strangers from making hurtful or embarrassing posts on the account's Timeline. 2 – Memorialized accounts no longer show up in the “People you may know” section on Facebook.

Can people post on a memorialized Facebook account?

A page on Facebook's Help Center describes the new Tributes section “as a space on memorialized profiles where friends and family can post stories, commemorate a birthday, share memories and more.” “Legacy contacts” will have more leeway over tribute posts than they do over the rest of the account.

What is Facebook legacy contact?

A Legacy Contact is a person who an individual has chosen to take control of their account once they've died. If you choose someone as your Legacy Contact, they'll be able to: Manage tribute posts on your profile, which includes deciding who can post and who can see posts, deleting posts and removing tags.

What does memorialized Facebook account look like?

A Memorialized Account looks a lot like a regular Facebook profile, with the deceased's photo, cover photo, friends list, posts, and About info displaying as it did during the person's life.

How do I delete my deceased husband's Facebook account?

Facebook provided the following instructions: First click the flower or star in the right hand corner of the page, Then click “help,” Then "visit the help center," Next, type in the search box "deceased user delete," Then choose memorialize or remove account. .

How long does it take to memorialize a FB account?

If it really takes Facebook more than six months to “memorialise” one account, then its process is not up to the task. If no one contacts Facebook, or if Facebook fails to respond, the account will remain active indefinitely.

Can Facebook legacy contact read messages?

Your legacy contact can't: Log into your account. Read your messages. Remove any of your friends or make new friend requests.

How do I turn off legacy on Facebook?

How do I add, change or remove my legacy contact on Facebook? In the bottom right of Facebook, tap. . Scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy, then tap Settings. Tap Personal Information. Go to Manage Account then tap Legacy Contact. Tap Choose Legacy Contact and follow the on-screen instructions. .

What is a legacy account?

Legacy Account means an account which was maintained under a Legacy Plan on behalf of a person who was a participant in such plan at any time prior to the Restatement Effective Date, and which was merged into the Plan at the Merger Effective Time.

Can I memorialize my own account?

To memorialize an account on Facebook, a request needs to be sent naming the deceased and providing their date of passing and proof of their death, such as an obituary or death certificate. Eventually, if it all checks out, Facebook will memorialize the account.

How do I activate my legacy account?

To choose a legacy contact, open up your Facebook account and go to Settings > Security > Legacy Contact. Click Edit, type in your friend's name, and click Add.