How To Change Delete To Archive On Iphone?

Asked by: Mr. Prof. Dr. Emma Rodriguez Ph.D. | Last update: October 3, 2021
star rating: 4.6/5 (41 ratings)

Instead of deleting emails, you can archive them in the Archive mailbox. Go to Settings > Mail, then tap Accounts. Do one of the following: Tap Advanced, then change the destination mailbox for discarded emails to the Archive mailbox.

How do I change settings from Archive to delete?

On your Android device, open the Voice app . Open the tab for Messages , Calls , or Voicemail . Tap the conversation (Messages), call, or voicemail you want to remove. Tap More. Delete. Tap the I understand box to confirm and then tap Delete. .

Why does my iPhone Archive instead of delete?

Why does my iPhone Gmail say archive instead of delete? Apple has added support for Gmail's archive feature with iOS 4. When swiping across a message you wish to delete, the red button that appears says archive instead of delete. Now the delete behavior you were used to with iPhone OS 3.

How do I change my Archive settings on my iPhone?

What to Know To enable, go to Settings > Passwords & Accounts > Accounts > [account] > Account > Advanced > Move Discarded Messages Into. Choose Deleted Mailbox to delete messages with the swipe function or choose Archive Mailbox to archive messages. To use swipe, open the Inbox and swipe email from right to left. .

How do I change from Archive to delete on iPhone email?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.

DELETE Email vs. ARCHIVE Email for GMAIL on iPhone.

15 related questions found

Why do I get archive instead of delete?

Google archiving removes messages from your Inbox, but keeps them in your account so that you can always find them later. This is like moving messages into a filing cabinet for safekeeping, rather than putting them in the trash can. Archiving removes the Inbox label.

How do I change archive to delete in Mail?

Choose your archive or delete settings On your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app . In the top left, tap Menu . Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action. Tap Archive or Delete. Scroll down to the "Action confirmations" section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages. .

How do I make Gmail Delete instead of archive?

On the Settings screen, scroll down to “Swipe actions” and for “Left swipe,” select “Trash.” As for messages that were archived instead of deleted, you can find them by opening the Menu icon and selecting All Mail. Here, you can swipe each message to delete it.

What is the difference between archive and delete?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, but an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or All Mail on Gmail / Google Apps.

How do I delete archived messages?

Open the Messenger app and tap your profile photo at the top left. Go to “Archived chats”. To get rid of an archived chat, press and hold (long-press) the particular chat and select “Delete”. Tap on Delete again to delete the archived conversation forever.

How do you delete archived Gmail on iPhone?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account. Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options. Tap 'Deleted Mailbox' under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you'll see that the default option is 'Archive Mailbox'. Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes.

Where is the Archive folder on iPhone?

When you open the Mail app on your iPhone, tap Mailboxes in the top left corner of the screen to view all of your mailboxes, then tap on the Archive mailbox to view all of your archived emails.

How do I change the swipe options on my iPhone email?

Changing the Swipe Options You will need to be in the Settings section of your iPhone, so navigate to that screen. In the Settings section, scroll down until you find Mail. Tap on Swipe Options. Select the swipe action that you want to modify. Note that the actions available to either action is not the same. .

How long do emails stay in archive?

It will remain there for 30 days. After this period of time, it will be permanently deleted and can no longer be retrieved or viewed. Archiving an email only removes it from your Inbox. It will remain so indefinitely, but the action can be undone at any time.

Is it better to archive or delete emails?

Rather than archiving every single email you get, try deleting the ones you don't care about. You'll free up space, and you won't have to pay to store useless emails. If an email is important, archive that one—or consider placing it into a folder or label that will make it easier to find in the future.

Is archiving the same as deleting in Gmail?

The difference between archive and delete in Gmail is that your deleted email will disappear from your mailbox after thirty days. Gmail archive instead of delete means you will be able to retrieve an email whenever you want. Before deleting, be 100% certain you won't need it.

What's the difference between archive and delete on Whatsapp?

Deleting is getting rid of all of them permanently. As in adios forever, and don't expect to ever see them come back. Archiving on the other hand is simply filing them away in another area of the app. You are not deleting them – you are simply moving them for the sake of tidiness.

How do you clean up messages on iPhone?

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch In a message conversation, touch and hold the message bubble or attachment that you want to delete. Tap More. Tap Trash. , then tap Delete Message. If you want to delete all messages in the thread tap Delete All, in the upper-left corner. Then tap Delete Conversation. .

How do you permanently delete archived WhatsApp messages?

If you only want to delete archived chats on WhatsApp, you can access them under the Chats tab. On the archives section, select all of the chats that you want to erase and tap the delete icon among the options.

How do I delete all archived messages in Messenger?

About This Article Click the Messages icon. Click See All. Click More. Click Archived. Select a conversation. Click the gear. Click Delete Conversation. Click Delete Conversation to confirm. .