How To Delete Facebook Messenger Conversations On Iphone 5?

Asked by: Ms. Dr. Clara Davis LL.M. | Last update: December 5, 2023
star rating: 4.3/5 (42 ratings)

Deleting messages on an iPhone or iPad: Open the Facebook Messenger app. Tap and hold on the conversation that you no longer want then swipe to the left. When the menu appears, select Delete. Confirm the selection by tapping Delete Conversation.

How do you delete multiple messages on Facebook Messenger on iPhone?

Unfortunately, using the Facebook-owned Messenger app on iOS and Android won't offer bulk delete, but they will add the same options as website and Mac/Windows apps. Instead of right-clicking in the desktop apps, you will tap and hold on any message you want to remove/unsend and follow the on-screen instructions.

Why can't I delete messages on Messenger iPhone?

If you can't delete a message on Messenger, it may be because the sender or one of the recipients is offline. You can try deleting it again once they're back online.

How do I permanently delete messages from Messenger?

To delete a conversation in Facebook Messenger using the app, hold down your finger on the conversation and then tap "Delete." Confirm you want to delete the conversation to delete it permanently.

How Do I Delete Conversations In Facebook Messenger

19 related questions found

How do I delete multiple conversations on Facebook Messenger?

Step 1: Download a copy of the Facebook Fast Delete Messages extension. Step 2: Log in to your Facebook account and head to the Messages area (you'll want to view them all at once). Step 3: Click the small Red X next to each message to delete the entire thread without having to open it. .

Can't delete conversations on Messenger?

Long-pressing a conversation should give you an option to delete it. When you open Messenger, find the conversation you want to delete, long-press it, tap Delete (or the red trashcan icon), and then confirm the deletion.

How do you delete messages on Messenger without opening it on iPhone?

If you open your Facebook messages page, there will be a gear icon to the right of each message. Click on that gear icon and select "Delete" to delete a message without opening it first.

How do I delete messages from iPhone but not iCloud?

You need to go to settings - iCloud and toggle off Messages. If you delete that thread it will be local to your device but that thread will still remain in Messages in iCloud since you haven't deleted it from there. Just remember if you turn it back on on that very same device the thread will show up again.

How do you delete Facebook chats?

To delete individual messages or a conversation: Tap . Open the conversation. Tap in the top right. Scroll down and tap Delete or Delete Selected. Tap Delete again to confirm. .

How do you delete messages on Messenger on iPhone 2021?

Launch the Messenger app on your phone. Tap and hold the conversation you want to delete. A popup menu will appear, select Delete. Tap DELETE to confirm.

How do I delete messages on iPhone but not iPad?

You'll need to tap the “More” icon which will put a selector next to each message conversation. Once you've selected the ones you wish to delete, tap the Trash button. You can also go to Settings > Messages > Keep Messages and select 30 days.

Where do deleted messages go iPhone?

There is no trash or recently deleted folder with the iOS messaging app. If you have a backup that would have had the deleted texts in it, you can restore the entire device from that backup. Otherwise, deleted texts are gone.

How can you find deleted messages on iPhone?

You can retrieve deleted text messages on your iPhone by restoring it with an iCloud backup. If you save backups to your computer, you can use iTunes or Finder to recover your iPhone's texts. If all else fails, reach out to your cellular carrier — they may restore deleted messages for you.

How do I delete all messages on Messenger 2021?

Browser Log into your Facebook account. Click See all in Messenger. Click on the options wheel next to a conversation. Click Delete if you want to erase all the messages. .

When you delete a message on iPhone does the other person still see it?

When you delete a message, it only deletes the local copy on your device. The copy on the other end remains on the recipient's device unless they decide to delete it themselves. This is the standard for all text messages on every device, be it on Android devices or iPhone.

How do I get rid of deleted messages?

To remove a conversation and all its texts, you can hover on the message and select the trash can icon from the action bar that appears on the top part of the screen. While these options will remove messages from your Google device, you can quickly recover text chains you delete with this method.

Can you recover old deleted text messages?

Even when you 'permanently' clear messages, you're simply getting the phone to stop listing it in the deleted items folder. You can't recover such texts on the phone itself, but there are plenty of commercially available software packages you can buy that allow your PC to read data directly from a SIM card.

How do you delete iPhone messages on both sides?

Yes, you can delete text messages on both sides of an iPhone conversation. To do this, open the Messages app and find the conversation you want to delete messages from. Tap and hold on the conversation, then tap Delete. Select Delete Messages on Both Sides to delete all messages in the conversation.

Does deleting a message delete it for everyone?

If you want to remove a message just for yourself, you can still do that anytime by selecting “Remove for You”. When you choose this option, the message will be removed for you, but not for anybody else in the chat.

Can you delete sent messages on iPhone?

There is no way to unsend a text message or iMessage unless you cancel the message before it was sent.

How do you delete deleted items on iPhone?

How to empty trash in the Files app on an iPhone Start the Files app. If the app doesn't open on the Browse page, tap "Browse" at the bottom of the page. Tap "Recently Deleted." You can delete miscellaneous files on your iPhone using the Files app. Dave Johnson/Business Insider. Tap "Select." Tap "Delete All."..

How can I see my messages on iCloud?

Open the Settings app on your device. At the top of the Settings menu, tap your name to get to your Apple ID menu. Tap "iCloud." Under "Apps using iCloud," scroll down to "Messages" and toggle the switch to the on position, turning it green. .