How To Factory Restore Apple Iphone 6?

Asked by: Ms. Dr. Emily Weber B.Eng. | Last update: August 29, 2021
star rating: 4.4/5 (64 ratings)

Perform a factory data reset From the home screen select the. Settings app. Scroll to and select General, then scroll to and select Transfer or Reset iPhone. Select Erase All Content and Settings to reset device, then select Continue. Select Finish Upload Then Erase or Erase Now. Select Erase iPhone to confirm.

How do I restore my iPhone 6 to factory settings?

Tap Settings > General > Transfer or Reset [Device] Then tap Erase All Content and Settings.

How do I factory-reset my iPhone 6 without passcode?

Turn off your iPhone 6 and put your it in Recovery Mode by pressing the Home button and Power button until the "Connect to iTunes" icon appears. Step 3. Then a window (as below) will pop up to ask you to "Restore" or "Update" your iPhone. Click on "Restore.".

How do I completely factory-reset my iPhone?

Wipe all content and settings from iPhone Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone. If you're erasing your iPhone because you're replacing it with a new iPhone that you have on hand, you can use extra free storage in iCloud to move your apps and data to the new device. Tap Erase All Content and Settings. .

Does hard reset delete everything iPhone 6?

Hard resetting means removing everything that is on your iPhone. Performing a hard reset wipes out all the data from your device. On the flip side, soft reset pertains to simply turning off your phone and restarting it.

How To Factory Reset iPhone 6 / Wipe / Format Before Selling

18 related questions found

How do I restore my iPhone to factory settings without Apple ID?

How to Reset iPhone without Apple ID Password via iTunes Put your iPhone into Recovery Mode. Open iTunes or Finder on your Mac or Windows, and keep your iPhone connected to the computer, then: Restore your iPhone with iTunes. iTunes will start to restore your iPhone. .

How do I do a factory reset?

Press the volume up key and the power button simultaneously for about 30 seconds or until the root menu appears. Then choose the action you want to take from the root menu, in this case “Wipe data/factory reset”.

How do I reset my iPhone to factory settings without a password or computer?

Are you wondering how to reset a locked iPhone without a computer? Simply press and hold the Volume buttons and Home button at the same time. iPhone X, 8 & Newer: Press and hold the Volume up button, then the Volume Down button, and the side button at the same time.

Can you reset an iPhone without the password?

Log into the Find My iPhone site via iCloud. Enter your Apple ID and password – you do not need your iPhone passcode, but you will need access to your Apple account. Select your iPhone from the drop-down list of devices. Click “Erase iPhone” and then confirm your decision.

Does a factory reset delete everything?

Factory resets aren't perfect. They don't delete everything on the computer. The data will still exist on the hard drive. Such is the nature of hard drives that this type of erasure doesn't mean getting rid of the data written to them, it just means the data can no longer be accessed by your system.

Does erasing iPhone really delete everything?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

How do I force my iPhone to factory reset with buttons?

If you have an iPhone 8, 8 Plus, or iPhone X, press the volume-up button, then volume-down, then the Power button. If you have an iPhone 7 or 7 Plus, press and hold the Power and volume-down buttons for 10 seconds. If you have an iPhone 6S or earlier, press and hold the Power and Home buttons for 10 seconds.

Can you erase an iPhone without Apple ID?

Answer: A: You cannot. To do that you must first sign the active AppleID out of iCloud on the device.

Where is factory reset on my phone?

Press the volume up key and the power button simultaneously for about 30 seconds or until the root menu appears. Then choose the action you want to take from the root menu, in this case “Wipe data/factory reset”.

How do I wipe my phone before selling it?

How to wipe your device Back up the device before any procedure. Download a remote wiping app. Clear the internal memory. Follow the manual factory reset instructions. Get software that – among other things – includes a SIM card lock. Record your phone's unique ID number for future reference. .

What happens when I factory reset my phone?

Yes, the factory reset deletes all the settings and information from your phone. and the phone will be restored to its factory settings.

How do I reset my iPhone without the 2021 password?

If you forgot your iPhone passcode Step 1: Make sure that you have a computer (Mac or PC) This process requires a Mac or PC. Step 2: Turn off your iPhone. Unplug your iPhone from the computer if it's connected. Step 3: Put your iPhone in recovery mode. Step 4: Restore your iPhone. .

Does resetting iPhone delete iCloud?

Nothing in your iCloud account will be deleted. After resetting, restore from your backup, anything that isn't in the backup will be restored from the relevant store or iCloud photo library etc.

Can data be recovered after a factory reset iPhone?

Look for the last backup that you have on your iCloud account. This will allow you to recover data from iPhone after a factory reset and put it back to the most recent backup that you have of your device.

What is the difference between hard reset and factory reset?

A hard reset is a simple rebooting of your phone. It does not delete any data. 2. A factory reset deletes all data from your phone and restores it to its original factory settings.

Does resetting your iPhone to factory settings actually delete everything on the device or is there anything that can be recovered?

When you choose to reset your iPhone, the device "obliterates" the keys. So your data is still there, but no one can read it anymore. In other words, the “Erase All Content and Settings” will make your data inaccessible on the iPhone, but it is still recoverable. Your data can be recovered by using a recovery tool.

What does a factory reset erase?

Since a factory reset entails deleting all information stored in the device, it is essentially the same concept as reformatting a hard drive. Pre-installed applications and data on the card's storage card (such as a microSD card) will not be erased. A factory reset effectively destroys all data stored in the unit.

Is it reset or re set?

verb (used with object), re·set, re·set·ting. to set again: to reset an alarm clock; to reset a broken bone. to set, adjust, or fix in a new or different way: to reset priorities; to reset prices.